News & Updates from LWIA

2015 Youth Awards Luncheon
Posted on Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 10:04 AM
Nominees for TANF Participant of the Year

This year’s annual Youth Awards Luncheon was held on May 28, 2015 at The Riverside in Cambridge Springs. The purpose of the awards luncheon is to allow staff to nominate outstanding youth and partners for their dedication and commitment. There are 7 categories each year, Educational Partner of the Year, Employer of the Year, Community Partner of the Year, Older Youth of the Year, Younger Youth of the Year, Outstanding Industry Club Participant of the Year, and TANF Participant of the Year.

This year’s nominees for Educational Partner of the Year were McDowell High School, Oil City High School, Union High School, Union City Schools, Tidioute Community Charter School, and Forest Area School District.  The 2015 Educational Partner of the Year was awarded to Union City Schools.

2015 Community Partner of the Year nominees were Educational Talent Search, Jefferson-Clarion Family Learning Center, Union City Family Support Center, Hermitage House, Warren County Career Center, Abraxas 1, Perseus House-Dan DiTullio.  This year’s winner was Perseus House-Dan DiTullio.

The nominees for Employer of the Year were Erie Maennerchor Club, Franklin Elks Club, Kentucky Fried Chicken, Orchard Brands, and Sarah Stewart Bovard Memorial Library.  The winner for the 2015 Employer of the Year was Kentucky Fried Chicken in Crawford County. 

This year’s nominees for TANF Participant of the Year were Dillon DiCorpo, Anthony Smith, Desiree Miller, and McKayla Snow.  The 2015 TANF Participant of the Year was awarded to McKayla Snow of Venango County. 

2014 Industry Club Outstanding Participant of the Year nominees were Jafari Verite, Kashila Alameda, and Kaylynn Anderson.  This year’s winner was Kaylynn Anderson.

This year’s nominees for Older Youth of the Year were Eric Braden, Dakota Book, David Agens, Andrew Durstine, Austin Hunter, and William Deeter Lyon.  The 2015 Older Youth of the Year Award was awarded to Dakota Book of Clarion County. 

The nominees for Younger Youth of the Year were Whitney Johnston, Jaquell Taylor, Thomas Anthony, Teresa Rounds Ki’Andre Arnold, Matthew Dunn, and Carrie Miller.   The winner of the 2015 Younger Youth of the Year Award was Carrie Miller of Forest County.

Everyone had a wonderful day.  We are especially thankful to former WIA Youth Jarrett Miller for sharing with everyone his story and future plans and how the program/staff helped him with his life path.




Proudly Serving Northwest Pennsylvania

Clarion County Venango County Forest County Warren County Crawford County Erie County

Click on a specific region to access additional county information

Recent News

NWPA Job Connect February Flash

Next Generation Academy propels Industry Partnerships in N …

Read More »
NWPA Job Connect January Flash

TalkErie Radio, "Teacher in the Workplace" Grant, and more in the January 2019 Flash!

Read More »
NWPA Job Connect Awarded $157,160 Business Education Partnership Grant

The Northwest PA area received a PA Department of Labor & Industry Business-Education Partner …

Read More »

Subscribe to our Mailing List

* indicates required